Tigger or Eeyore

2016 was a year of trials for myself and from what I hear, many other people as well. From sicknesses to deaths and everything in between, we were glad to see 2016 come to an end. Hoping and praying that 2017 will bring better things.

But really, in spite of all of those many things, the thing to ponder is our response to said things. Did we push through with a smile on our face? Was that smile fake or plastered on with a false sense of peace? Did we complain and grumble with an Eeyore mindset? “Oh, woe is me…”

As a Christian, many believe that I am supposed to always have a smile on my face, with the right scripture reference to stand on and have not one complaint pass my lips. Well, if that’s the case, I failed horribly. I did/do not always have the best attitude. My perspective can be a bit skewed at times. I may lose my junk over the simplest of things. While I am a Christian, I am still human. I strive to be, even in the slightest glimpse, a reflection of Jesus. The trick to that is to be a reflection of something, you really should be pointing toward that something for its image to be portrayed. To see yourself, you have to look in the mirror, and there you will see your reflection. If you don’t look for Jesus in the midst of the trials, you won’t “mirror” His image.

I wish I could say that I consistently kept my eyes on Him this past year. There were moments where all I could get out were breath prayers to which I uttered, “God, help.” But as everyone knows, when I am weak, He is strong2nd Corinthians 12:10. I didn’t veer too much off course. I continually sought after Him; just not with as much intensity as before…and it showed.

There was a season, and still a glimpse remains, where depression snuck its ugly head in. My spirit was/is dry. Thankfully, I have an awesome husband who sees the signs and fights for me when I just can’t anymore. When I thought I was handling everything just fine, my actions started to tell me otherwise. That’s when I know it’s time to do something about it. Crack open that Bible, blare the worship music…just get still before Him.
Why am I telling you all of this personal business? Because I want others to know that when things go wrong, and they will on this side of Heaven, it doesn’t have to be the end of the world. You don’t have to fake it till you make it. You also don’t have to walk around with a black cloud over yourself either. Just take it one day at a time, one breath at a time if that’s where you are. Embrace the pain. Embrace the sorrow. Only through the tears will healing come. And I don’t know about you, but I’d rather be end up being like Tigger or than Eeyore.

Keep pressing on…pooh

Leave a Reply

