Life Goes On

You know the saying, “When it rains, it pours”; well this rings so true in my life right now. There are so many things that I cannot share publicly, but one includes the passing of my grandmother today. There is a peace in knowing that she lived a long life of 90 years. She was ready to go home. I asked her Friday night if she was ready to go see Jesus, and she nodded. I am not looking for sympathy. There is a calm in the midst of this storm. I can only attribute that to the Lord’s presence in my life and His loving and comforting hand. I’m also not looking for applause for how well I am handling all of this, because all glory goes to Him. Without Him, I would be one hot mess. Have I had my tears? Oh yes and more will come, but healing comes through tears. My heart hurts for my family, though. It’s so tough to see them going through so much as well. Wish I could take all of the pain away.

“Then young women will dance and be glad, young men and old as well. I will turn their mourning into gladness; I will give them comfort and joy instead of sorrow.” Jeremiah 31:13

“God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.” Psalm 46:1

Life does go on, indeed. In fact, I am choosing a healthier life, one that people may not understand. I am completely back on a no sugar, no gluten diet. When telling others what I cannot eat, their comments are similar to, “Well, that’s not living” or “Seems more of a hassle to me than it’s worth”. My response to that is, life is not living when you are in so much pain, when you can’t go a day without sitting on a heating pad, and when you can’t ever seem to get enough energy to do much of anything. Even a hug seems to be painful. So, is that living? Not for me. I am trying to incorporate this into my kids’ habits, but it’s a lot harder for them. They aren’t in pain. They don’t have that inside motivator. I want to spare them from this pain in the future if I can. All I can do is encourage, have them continue to taste what I’m making and pray that my example gives them the desire to eat better. They won’t have a choice when all that is in my house is fruit, veggies, meat and nuts! Oh well, children! Mean Mom is on the loose again! MUAAHHHAAAHHHAAA….

Check out these recipes that I’ve made today and are fantastic: pumpkin and almond bread with a sprinkle of honey, and a carrot and apple salad. Are you sure this is dieting?

Print Recipe

Carrot Apple Salad

Source: www.plantoeat.com

Course: Salad

Cuisine: American

Serves: 1

Ingredients

  • 14 cup fresh lemon or lime juice
  • 2 Tbs fresh orange juice
  • 1 Tbs honey
  • 2 cups apple, shredded
  • 2 cups carrots, shredded
  • 1 Tbs fresh mint or 1 tsp dried mint
  • 18 tsp salt or to taste
  • 14 cup raisins

Directions

  1. Mix together the juice and the honey. Toss with the apples and coat well (prevents browning). Add the remaining ingredients. Toss well and serve immediately.

Powered by
Plan To Eat

//www.plantoeat.com/javascripts/planit.js

Print Recipe

Pumpkin and Almond Bread

Healing Foods

Replace the butter with grapeseed oil to make dairy free. Add honey or agave if you want it a little bit sweeter.

Source: www.plantoeat.com

Course: Breads

Cuisine: European

Serves: 1

Ingredients

  • 4 cups almond flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 12 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 14 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup fresh pumpkin, cooked and mashed
  • 12 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 1 Tbs organic orange rind, grated
  • 12 tsp ground ginger

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.
  2. Line a 4×8″ loaf tin with parchment paper.
  3. Combine the almond flour with the baking soda and salt. In another bowl whisk the eggs with the butter and add the remaining ingredients. Combine the almond flour with the egg mixture. Pour the dough into the prepared loaf tin and bake for 1 hour, until the top of the loaf feels firm. Remove from the oven and cool completely. Store in the refrigerator.

Powered by
Plan To Eat

//www.plantoeat.com/javascripts/planit.js

Leave a Reply

