Day 53 – Uh oh…Is it back?

Woke up today and went into work. Still having pains but hey, you’ve gotta do what you’ve gotta do. Feeling a little bit better than yesterday, but still not right. I’ve been dealing with this on and off for the past year or so and have been putting it off because I know that further testing will be needed, but I couldn’t put it off any longer.

I bit the bullet and scheduled an appointment for today. I love my gastroenterologist. He helped me out the last time, so I have confidence in him and my God for this time. So I was thinking that my pains were from my hiatal hernia, but I may be wrong. Where my pain is located is the same spot that had the ulcers the last time, in the terminal ileum. Looks like I may not be in remission anymore with the IBD (inflammatory bowel disease), which is also a form of Crohn’s disease. (Below is a bit of description about it.) The next step is another colonoscopy and upper GI that will be coming up in April. Until then, managing it with my diet and OTC acid reducer is all I can do. He actually said that the GF diet is great for IBD. Well, if it’s not helping with the other symptoms yet, at least I have that motivation. I do not want to go back to what I was before with my stomach. It was miserable and it wasn’t living. 

IMG_0208With all of that being said, I’m hopeful. It was hard finding things to eat today that didn’t make me feel worse, but I’ve gotta eat. Breakfast was GF toast with cinnamon and sugar, snack was a banana, lunch was an apple pecan chicken salad and dinner was chicken, rice and gravy with sweet peas. It was great! My stomach is rumbling and swollen. (I’m guessing from the inflammation in my intestines.) But on a good note…I’VE LOST 10 POUNDS! WOOP WOOP! Thanks to all who have and are continuing to encourage me along this journey. Much love to you!

http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/inflammatory-bowel-disease/basics/definition/con-20034908

 

Leave a Reply

