You called me a what?!

So I’ve been called a hippie quite a few times lately. The definition of a hippie is:

a person, especially of the late 1960s, who rejected established institution and values and sought spontaneity, direct personal relations expressing love, and expanded consciousness, often expressed externally in the wearing of casual, folksy clothing and of beads, headbands, used garments, etc.

I don’t consider myself a hippie by that definition by any means, but what others are referring to is the changing of my lifestyle. I’ve started on the bandwagon of essential oils, and as of today, I am starting a gluten-free diet.

Maybe you are wondering why I am doing all of this. Well here is a little history of myself. I have been a pretty sickly person all of my life. I have struggled with stomach problems since I was a baby. My ailments now are: fibromyalgia, IBS along with ulcerative ilietis, TMJ, depression and anxiety, hypoglycemic, and symptoms of hypothyroidism. That’s just to name the ones that come to my mind now. 

So needless to say, I’m tired of being sick and taking so many meds. I recently saw a doctor who does Integrative Medicine and she suggested that I go on a gluten-free diet to decrease the amount of inflammation in my body. If you are like me, you probably just gasped at the thought of a gluten-free diet. That diet takes discipline, but I’m just that desperate. So why not give it a try? When I was super sick with my stomach and lost 20 pounds in 2 months, I went on a yeast-free diet for about 3 months. It helped and made me feel so much better. It corrected my stomach issues. I went from having 3-5 flare ups a day to 3-4 a month! So if that diet worked for my stomach, this one should help with everything else, according to my doctor.

I am starting this blog as a way to track my progress and also to share with others to hopefully help them if they suffer with this illness. Fibromyalgia sucks. Period. You ache all day, are exhausted from being in pain, can’t think straight, so much fibro fog, a.k.a. brain fog, and the list goes on. It’s miserable. And to make matters worse, some people and doctors don’t believe it’s real. They think it’s fabricated in the mind. Nope. I am not making this up!

So come on this journey with me. Encourage me, send scriptures, send tips, but don’t send your negativity. Keep that to yourself. I truly feel that God was leading me to this diet long before I went to the doctor. The doctor basically confirmed what I was already thinking. 

Join me as I become a “hippie.” 

4 thoughts on “You called me a what?!

    1. I’ve been called a Hippie chick all my life and yet, “I agree” I’m older than you so therefore I am proud to be this “hippie chick” . As far as the other ailments I have most. It’s OK if others don’t agree just” be you”. I love you and will support and always be your hippie chick other friends mom. Love and peace.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

